The Philippine Revolution

First Shots of the Revolution
August 23, 1896
Cry of Pugadlawin
The revolution began with Bonifacio and his men tearing up their cedulas.
A valiant Katipunero, Simplicio Acabe, became the first casualty of the revolution.
August 30, 1896
Battle of San Juan – Battle of Pinaglabanan
Bonifacio, leading his ragtag army of poorly armed and untrained Katipuneros, attacked the polverin (powder depot) of San Juan which was defended by 100 well-armed and trained artillerists and infantrymen.
More than 200 Katipuneros were taken prisoner and 153 died.
Almost simultaneously, the people of Santa Mesa, Pandacan, Pateros, Taguig, San Pedo, Makati, Caloocan, Balik-balik, and San Juan del Monte in Manila, and San Francisco de Malabon,
Kawit and Noveleta in Cavite rose up in arms
August 30, 1896
Martial Law proclaimed
In the afternoon of August 30, afternoon of the morning battle at San Juan, Governor General Blanco issued a proclamation declaring a state of war on eight Luzon provinces —
Manila, Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Bulacan, Pampanga, Nueva Ecija and Tarlac.
August 31, 1896
Kawit Revolt – Liberation of Noveleta
In Cavite, the uprisings were more successful, because they had able military commanders like Emilio Aguinaldo who led the revolt in Kawit on August 31, and Mariano Alvarez who liberated Noveleta on the same day.
Other military leaders rose to prominence, notably Artemio Ricarte, Tomas Mascardo, Juan Cailles, Vito Belarmino, Mariano Trias and Marcelino Aure.
September 2, 1896
Cry of Nueva Ecija
In Nueva Ecija, two thousand revolucionarios under General Mariano Llanera,
municipal captain of Cabiao, attacked the Spanish Garrison in San Isidro on September 2.
The assault was carried out in a flamboyant manner.Wearing red ribbons, the revolutionaries first paraded down the principal streets
to the music of the Cabiao Musikong Bumbong band.
Their leader cut dashing figures on horseback.
Then, armed only with bolos and pointed sticks, the revolutionary soldiers attacked.
The Filipinos held the town for three days but were forced
out after a furious battle against fresh Spanish troops
September 5, 1896
Battle of Imus
Emilio Aguinaldo, mayor of Kawit, was then known as Capitan Miong.
He won a signal victory in Imus on September 5, 1896
against the forces if General Ernesto Aguirre. From then on,
he became General Miong, the hero of the Cavitños.
September 6, 1896
The four Katipunan leaders taken prisoner in the Battle of San Juan
— Sancho Valenzuela, Ramon Peralta, Modesto Sarmiento,
and Eugenio Silvestre —
were executed by a firing squad at the Luneta, Manila
September 12, 1896
Thirteen martyrs of Cavite were executed in front of San Felipe Fort in the Cavite arsenal.
November 9-11, 1896
Battle of Binakayan – Battle of Dalahican
The twin battles in Binakayan (a barrio in Kawit) and Dalahican
(then a barrio of Noveleta) were decidedly brilliant.
They were the first humiliating defeat of the Spanish army.