President F Ramos

Fidel V. Ramos – Twelfth President


Second President of the Fourth Republic (1986 Constitution)
Fidel Valdez Ramos (born March 18, 1928) was the 12th President of the Philippines.
He succeeded Corazon Aquino and governed until 1998, when he was succeeded by Joseph Estrada.
He was the first, and to date the only, non-Roman Catholic president of the Philippines.
During the authoritarian regime of President Ferdinand Marcos, Ramos was head of the Philippine Constabulary, implementing Marcos’ declaration of martial law.
In the 1986 People Power Revolution, Ramos defected from the government and was a key figure in the civilian demonstrations that forced Marcos into exile.
The first half of Ramos’ six-year term as President was characterized by rapid economic growth and political stability in the country despite facing communist insurgencies, an Islamic separatist movement in Mindanao, and the onslaught of the 1997 Asian financial crisis.