President C Aquino

Corazon C. Aquino – Eleventh President


First President of the Fourth Republic (1986 Constitution)
Maria Corazon Cojuangco-Aquino (born Maria Corazon Suumulong Cojuangco on January 25, 1933), widely known as Cory Aquino, was the 11th President of the Philippines, serving from 1986 to 1992.
She was the first female President of the Philippines and was Asia’s first female President (except Soong Ching-ling, Honorary President and acting Chairman of China).
She is a world-renowned advocate of democracy, peace, women’s empowerment, and religious piety.
A self-proclaimed “plain housewife”, Aquino is the widow of Senator Benigno Aquino, Jr., a leading figure in the political opposition against the autocratic rule of President Ferdinand Marcos.
After her husband was assassinated upon his return from exile in the United States on August 21, 1983, Aquino, who had no prior political experience, became a focal point and unifying force of the opposition against Marcos.
She was drafted to run against Marcos in the 1986 snap presidential elections.
After Marcos was proclaimed the winner despite widespread reports of electoral fraud, Aquino was installed as President by the peaceful 1986 People Power Revolution.